View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
vicwilson18
New Member!
Female 

29-04-2009, 07:42 PM

Hello I'm a newbie! (puppy will only use the garden )

Hi everyone, Thought I would leave my 1st post by askin a question to rattle ur brains! I have a 15 wk west highland terrier cross, not sure what with.... his brindle in colour! He's been going pee & poop in the garden for a while now, barks to go out. Now he's fully vaccinated and able to go on walks, but........ he won't pee or poop on his walk! We've been on short walks, long walks in the woods, I let him sniff, I keep him by my side, i let him wander in front on extendable lead, I say 'go wee' (as I did when 1st training him in garden) I have the treats & praise ready...... but nothing! As soon as we get home he goes straight in the garden and doe's his business! I've tried taking him for a walk straight from his nap without letting him in the garden 1st to no avail. Yesterday I didn't let him out in the garden after walk, he didn't wee from about 11am till half 4 then after his walk he done a great big wee (not surprising) right by the back door with no bark warning! Anyone got any ideas please?? I'm wondering weather to literally take him out on lead every hour or something? At the moment his getting 20 min walk on morning school run, 1 hour appx in woods lunchtime, then 20 mins afternoon school run, then 10 min walk round the block early evening. Also any tips on trouser tugging and hand biting? Do I ignore or shout 'no' not that thats working! Phew sorry was a bit of a long 1st post everyone!
Cassius
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-04-2009, 08:36 PM
Hi,

First I think it's important to realise that whatever method you use to correct or train your pup, you must stick to it to avoid confusing him. Bear in mind that throughout his housetraining, he's been shown where to go to the toilet.