Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
greyhoundk
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

28-07-2010, 02:34 PM

Buying land

Hi hope i have posted this in the correct bit !

We are contemplating selling our house, buying some rural land and possibly erecting a log cabin or flat pack home or indeed a large mobile home. We would like a bit of land, a couple of acres maybe not too much, i would like to take in rescue greyhounds/lurchers ! or have a little smallholding

Can anyone give me any advice re planning ? i know with some classed as non-permanent buildings do not require planning.

Any advice would be gratefully received.
nddogs
Dogsey Senior
Female 

28-07-2010, 07:54 PM
I am no expert but 'know of' someone whos doing that at the mo, I don't know these people but I think they MIGHT have had to get planning but I'm not sure I think it would also depend on where the fields are maybe? Sorry I am not that helpful but good luck I'd love to do similar.
Dobermonkey
Almost a Veteran
Female 

10-09-2010, 12:02 PM
some travellers bought a few acres near us and they had to get 'temporary' planning permission if i remember rightly which was valid for 2 years at which point they had to reapply? dont quote me though but suffice to say i would imagine you will need permission of some sort or tother. also possibly for the kennels as well if you go down that route
krlyr
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

10-09-2010, 12:16 PM
I would probably speak to a legal bod about it, the last thing you want is to get incorrect information off the internet (even if it's unintentially, e.g. different laws apply in different parts of the country) and find yourself with a recently finished house and having your planning permission doesn't cover what you've had built.
labradork
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

10-09-2010, 12:25 PM