Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Jugsmalone
Almost a Veteran
Female 

12-07-2011, 06:48 PM

Dog running up and barking at dogs on lead

I have a friend and another dog who I walk my boys with. He is a whippet cross. He is approximately 9 months old and has been neutered.

when Sudo (Lurcher) is off lead and he sees another dog on a lead he runs over and starts barking at the dog and lunging forward (it is more noise, no bitting). he is perfectly fine with other dogs who are off their leads.

my friend would really like to get this sorted out.

Can anyone offer any advice on how to train him to stop doing this please?

Thanks in advance.
Dobermann
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-07-2011, 06:58 PM
I'm no expert but I would have him on a (training) lead and play a game - reward when he looks when dogs around, gradually the lead gets longer (dogs closer over time) same principle throughout.......

dont know what others think?
Dobermann
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-07-2011, 07:00 PM
If he has a good recall then better timing. Does he have a leave?

I don't think he should have the privilege of being off lead yet if he is behaving this way. I know my dog may NOT appreciate or tolerate this!
TabithaJ
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-07-2011, 07:20 PM
Originally Posted by Jugsmalone View Post
I have a friend and another dog who I walk my boys with. He is a whippet cross. He is approximately 9 months old and has been neutered.

when Sudo (Whippet) is off lead and he sees another dog on a lead he runs over and starts barking at the dog and lunging forward (it is more noise, no bitting). he is perfectly fine with other dogs who are off their leads.

my friend would really like to get this sorted out.

Can anyone offer any advice on how to train him to stop doing this please?

Thanks in advance.