Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Calamity
New Member!
Female 

27-06-2012, 06:15 PM

So, What IS she?? (scared of cars)

Hey,
This is my first post. My name is Sarah, I am a uni student and 1 1/2 years ago my boyfriend and I brought home a gorgeous little (big) puppy from a re-homing kennels. We have both had dogs all our lives and decided it was the right time to get one as "ours". We love her to bits and I can't imagine life without her now. She is an unusual dog to say the least, and I thought I would post a couple of pictures to see what your thoughts are. We are currently thinking that she might be dalmatian x hound sort of!! we are considering getting a DNA test purely because we are so interested. I know I am biased, but I think she is a stunning dog!

That was her as a puppy when we first picked her up.

That is a more recent picture so you can see her proportions. She is very speckled even more so now. Each time I look at her she seems to have gained new freckles!!

P.S we got her at 11 weeks, and she was handed into the kennels at 8 weeks as a stray. She is terrified of cars; walking next to them on the road and getting into them. It wasn't such a problem when she was younger as we could pick her up easily, but now it is a 2 man job!! We have been very persistent with her, not a day goes by where she isn't in a car or walking on the roads but still no better. I hate seeing her so scared, but I don't know what to do to help her. Any ideas on how to crack this while she is still young?
smokeybear
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

Calamity
New Member!
Female 

27-06-2012, 06:25 PM
Thank you I have done clicker training with her and she has her bronze kennel club obedience training. It is just this car thing, but that first link has some good tips. Thanks
WhichPets
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

27-06-2012, 06:26 PM
Welcome to the forum Your dog is gorgeous.

I too have a nervous dog so I know how hard it can be.