View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Magpyex
Almost a Veteran
Female 

05-06-2012, 09:09 PM

Learning programming for design purposes?

What's the best way to get started with programming for things like building websites & website graphics? My boyfriend does it for a living (Builds e-commerce websites) but having him teach me would probably drive me crazy

I'm a graphic designer & a lot of graphic design jobs are pretty computer heavy, sometimes including building things for websites which I basically just take a stab in the dark at, at the minute. I figure I can only make myself more employable if I can learn a bit of programming to help with building websites and/or building graphics for websites.

I've heard that learning Java is the best way to go but I don't really know much about it. Would anyone suggest another way?

Also, I'm pretty terrible at maths! I'm not super terrible, I got a B at GCSE but it certainly isn't my strong point & nowadays I mostly do everything with a calculator. Is this likely to hinder me?
krlyr
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

05-06-2012, 09:34 PM
Do you know HTML? You might have if you do basic websites, if not, that's where to start.
http://www.w3schools.com is a good place and covers JavaScript, PHP etc too.
Magpyex
Almost a Veteran
Female 

05-06-2012, 10:35 PM
Originally Posted by krlyr View Post
Do you know HTML? You might have if you do basic websites, if not, that's where to start.
http://www.w3schools.com is a good place and covers JavaScript, PHP etc too.
Thanks for that link, it looks great! I'll have to start working through it I know very basic HTML but I could certainly learn a lot more so I'll probably start there!
rich c
Almost a Veteran
Male 

06-06-2012, 06:08 PM
I've not really looked into it but my understanding is you can do some pretty nifty stuff with html5...
Magpyex
Almost a Veteran
Female 

09-06-2012, 05:04 PM