Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
shaza
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-09-2006, 03:29 PM

Scared - Someone Stole my Identity

I am now feeling really scared about using my computer after finding that someone had stolen my identity last week on Ebay. I tried to log in one day and found that my password didn't work, then found that they had also changed my email address for contacting. They also sold things under my name and paid for the adverts from my paypal account. Though they reimbersed me for the ads I am so scared to use it now, it's really scary, and i really don't understand how this could happen.

Any advise or clues to how they can do this would be wellcome.
Steve
Dogsey Veteran
Male 

17-09-2006, 03:37 PM
Im no expert with puters,but each time i've bought something from Ebay or simply logged onto my account-afterwards i always delete my temporary internet files so no info can be taken away should someone be able to hack into my laptop.

Im curious to know how someone has stolen and changed your identity so will be watching this thread with intrest.
shaza
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-09-2006, 03:41 PM
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Im no expert with puters,but each time i've bought something from Ebay or simply logged onto my account-afterwards i always delete my temporary internet files so no info can be taken away should someone be able to hack into my laptop.

Im curious to know how someone has stolen and changed your identity so will be watching this thread with intrest.
Hi, steve - yes i also delete the temorary internet files on a daily basis, as my laptop runs slow if I don't!
ceiron
Almost a Veteran
Male 

17-09-2006, 03:57 PM
many ways it can be done, if you use an easy to guess password and oen password for eveything, then your screwed.

however i wouldexpect you prolly have some virus or spyware etc that acts liek a keylogger or print screen and is sending the information to whoever has hacked your computer.