Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Hayley
Dogsey Senior

28-03-2008, 02:54 PM

Gabapentin

Has anyone used this on their dogs?

I'm waiting for a prescription to be delivered to my vets at the moment (ordered on Tuesday and won't be in until next Tuesday).

Just wondered if anyone has any experience of using this and if it helps?
Ripsnorterthe2nd
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

28-03-2008, 03:21 PM
Never seen it used on dogs, but I've seen some amazing results on human patients with severe neurological/nerve pain.

Hope it does the trick for your doggie.
zoeybeau1
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

28-03-2008, 03:26 PM
I googled it as I've never heard of it and here were some result's first a copy from the page il put up for you.
Gabapentin (Neurotin Rx): is a seizure control medication that seems to suppress chronic pain. It is expensive and we have not had a situation in which we had to use it so I have no personal experience with it. The recommended dosage is 1 to 4mg/kg every 12 hours in dogs and every 24 hours in cats. In humans gabapentin is reported to provide additional pain relief in extreme pain situations in which narcotics such as morphine aren't potent enough alone.
Here is the website i found.
http://www.vetinfo4dogs.com/dpain.html
Hayley
Dogsey Senior

28-03-2008, 03:29 PM
Thanks both

Glazby has been on a course of steroids for the pain caused by his spondylosis completely encasing his sciatic nerve.

The steroids didn't even touch the sides and so they've suggested a 10 day course of gabapentin to see if that helps.

Expensive - Yes!! Its around £60 for 10 days which if he was on it daily would work out at around £180 per month

I've been told its usually used for epilepsy but its a nerve pain pain-killer and so will hopefully help him - only other option if not is surgery and we've ruled that one out already.

If anyone has any experience in using it on their dogs I'd be interested to hear - if there are any side-effects etc.

Thanks!
zoeybeau1