Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Ginge2602
Dogsey Junior
Female 

28-11-2012, 04:52 PM

Struggle for lab to lose weight

Hi, I walk dogs for a living and I was sooooo disheartened today when one of the labs put on weight in today's vet weight check. He's now booked in for a health check and blood tests in case something else is wrong. He's 9, neutered and 45ks. His owner and I have been trying to get his weight down for 4 mnths now and not a pound!!!. He's on chappie dried food after previously being on burns. Treats strictly limited. Poor boy is miserable from starvation rations. Any tips/suggestions?
Kaska
Dogsey Junior
Female 

28-11-2012, 05:08 PM
He's obviously still being given more food than he needs, if he's putting on weight, unless there is a medical cause - which the health check should hopefully find. Does he get much exercise apart from walks - does he free run at all and for how long? When you say treats are strictly limited - how much does he get? My dogs get no treats at all, only their dinner and a couple of them could still do with dropping a bit of weight.

I tend to feed according to condition, if my dogs are heavier than they should be, I cut down, and vice versa.
Ginge2602
Dogsey Junior
Female 

28-11-2012, 06:32 PM
He gets two Markies and a dental chew a day and one cup full of chappie. I'm worried cos his food has been vastly reduced and still he doesn't lose any weight. He is out with me for 1hr and half per day off leash. We play ball but not as much as we used to as arthritis kicking in. Rank rotten summer so not as much swimming as normal summers. As winter approaches the chances of significant exercise reduces. He's healthy and spritely otherwise. Drinks a lot.
labradork
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

28-11-2012, 07:33 PM
Best wait and see if the blood tests show anything....