View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
k9crew
Dogsey Junior
Male 

29-09-2009, 07:42 AM

Fireworks Night Advice (same topic threads merged)

Hello All

I'm sure this discussion comes around every year, but as I'm a newbie and guess the info will also help others new to this site; what tactics, other than sound CDs, do you guys use to help a dog frightened on fireworks night (or month as it's seemed to become!)?
MissE
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-09-2009, 07:52 AM
Few weeks before, plug in a Dap diffuser. (few weeks after, too)
On the night, close the curtains, put the tv up loud (warn the neighbours) and every time a firework goes off, I clap my hands and say "speak, speak" in a very excited voice.
After the second year, Missy now speaks at every firework and the tv is not so loud
Lynn
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Gold Supporter 

29-09-2009, 08:00 AM
We found the diffusers didn't really help. Ollie now gets a half tsp of Valerian, and we keep the curtains closed and the tele on and just try to ignore him if he starts to get agitated and lay by us we do not fuss him but speak to him calmly and carry on as normal it does seem to help.

at the month timing it will start round here as soon as they go on sale in the local shops probably October and carry on till about February.
cava14una
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-09-2009, 08:06 AM
First thing I do is start putting Rescue remedy in water about Mid October.

From about Halloween onwards I make sure they go out for a pee well before dark as my older Beardie won't go out if they are going off. I take him out on lead even in garden last thing and if he's still too stressed have even got up during night to let him out.
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

29-09-2009, 08:19 AM
We get fireworks most of the year. The really loud ones are perpetrated by our beloved Council who enjoy spending our money every Saturday night for the benefit of 2 damp tourists and the odd seagull.