Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
katyjake1
New Member!
Female 

27-06-2009, 09:28 PM

will my dog still have puppies?

hi everyone this is my first time on here, right then i have a labrador and she's had one litter not by chose she got raped in her own back garden!! next door had men in doing work on their house & they had a labrador with them and he jumped my wall and got her, i heared macy yelp so i went out and they were stuck togeather!! anyway iam wanting to breed her this time and she's gone to spend the weekend with the stud but their not "tieing" will she still have puppies is what i basicly want to know because she tied with the first dog but not this one, why not?

i would be very very very greatfull for any help you can give me. many thanks Katy x
Windhound
Dogsey Junior
Female 

27-06-2009, 10:52 PM
There could be many reasons why your bitch is not mating with the dog you have sent her to. Is he a proven stud? Is she ready to be mated?What day of her season is she at?When she was previously mated,how far was she into her season. How long ago did she have her litter? Some bitches mate better if they are allowed to get to know the male(otherwise it's a bit like rape all over again) Did you take her to your vet to get her checked over before you took her to the stud?Lots of questions,but breeding is not always straight forward.How old is she?
Cassius
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

28-06-2009, 03:16 AM
Hi,

If your dog was "raped" and the liter was unplanned and unwanted why did you not take her to the vets for the jab to terminate the pregnancy?
Possibly this time she doens't want to mate with the stud dog - or any dog for that matter.

Also, did the owners of the sire provide any financial assistance wrt vets fees, care for the pups, finding homes for the pups etc?