Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
TabithaJ
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-06-2011, 09:15 AM

Raw feeding - without the bones???

I recently switched Dexter to a totally raw diet. The slight problem is that he does not seem to like the bones that much...

He'll eat the meat from them but then leaves them. Also, when he does spend more time gnawing on the bones, he then tends to throw up afterwards....

I don't/won't give him anything as small as chicken wings as he eats so quickly, so am a bit worried.

Is it possible to do a raw diet without the bones??? I'm still a total novice with this but I get the feeling this would not be great??

Any guidance very welcome, thank you
lozzibear
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-06-2011, 10:57 AM
I would always prefer to have bones in the diet, but if he won't eat them then you might not have a great choice... unless you got them ground up in mince... He will need to have a way to get calcium, you could give things like yoghurt, cheese and I'm sure i read somewhere that sardines have quite high calcium. Not sure the best way to get the right amount of calcium though without feeding bones...

Could you not hold the chicken wings to begin with, and see how he gets on? Jake can be a fast eater but he is great with chicken wings, carcasses etc.
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-06-2011, 11:08 AM
My lot don`t get bones because Shamus grabs them and guards them. And there was the incident where my son found one hidden under his pillow.
They get mince, plus chicken wings, poultry necks, hearts, liver and chicken portions mostly. They seem fine on it.
Tupacs2legs
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-06-2011, 11:12 AM
....are u overfeeding him? he may not be that hungry.

if Tupac has no probs with wings(hes a gannet!)im sure Dex would be...i know how nervous i was a first tho
Lynn
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Gold Supporter 

12-06-2011, 11:23 AM
You can always bash the chicken wings with a small hammer or rolling pin.
Velvetboxers