Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Westie_N
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

14-04-2013, 05:18 PM

Cruciate rupture in other leg

Pretty sure Molly's left cruciate has gone now, 3 months after the right. Just when she was recovering so well after her surgery too. Very disappointing.

I know one often follows the other, but I had hoped it wouldn't be this soon.

She has an appointment on Tuesday for a follow up, but I've no patience to wait that long so going to phone the vets tomorrow morning.

Has anyone got any experience with second cruciate ops in the opposite leg? Did it affect the first operated on leg?

Thanks.
Bitkin
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

14-04-2013, 06:22 PM
Oh flip.........this is so unfair I know that it is always a possibility because of the extra strain put on the other leg, but Molly is not a heavy dog, and I don't believe it happens that often in a small dog.

Bitz managed to avoid it, so I have no experience but will hope and pray to all the gods that Molly has merely pulled something. Good luck for tomorrow.
debster
Dogsey Junior
Female 

14-04-2013, 07:59 PM
oh no poor little thing we were told by the vet that it wasn't a foregone conclusion that the second one goes when they are little as it is usually an injury rather then caused by being a big do etc
susannah92
Dogsey Senior
Female 

14-04-2013, 09:05 PM
So sorry to hear this - poor Molly.
My Tilly (a fairly big girl) had cruciate rupture surgery when she was 3, but she was lucky that there were no further problems except arthritis (and she lived to age 16).
Such a pity if Molly has suffered a second rupture specially so soon after the first has been dealt with. Good luck.
Malka
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Diamond Supporter 

15-04-2013, 05:44 AM
Fingers crossed for Molly that it is not the cruciate.

(((hugs))) xx
malty
New Member!
Female 

15-04-2013, 07:53 AM
My terrier cross had both cruciates torn at the same time!