Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
muddipaws
New Member!
Female 

04-05-2009, 12:22 PM

I'm a newbee and need help please!! Antihistamine- how many to give

I am new to dogsey, but came across it looking for safe antihistamines for my dog, who seems to be obsessed with wasps and flys. I have read that Piriton is safe and good but for a spaniel sized dog how many tablets should I give, can anyone help me please
Thanks alot
Muddipaws:
Helena54
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

04-05-2009, 12:41 PM
Just make sure you get the right ones! You have to get the cheaper ones which DO make them drowsy, don't get the expensive ones which don't coz they are harmful to dogs. I have a very big gsd who used to live on them permanently for his itchy skin, and the vet told me I could give him 4 a day, spaced out of course, but I stuck with 3 which seemed to work well. If I were you, I'd give one morning and one night and that way you will be more than safe and they should work fine. Good luck, some dogs they work on some they don't, but mine they did, but the effect seemed to wear off over a matter of weeks, so I stopped them and then started again.
muddipaws
New Member!
Female 

04-05-2009, 12:51 PM
Hi, Thanks for that, any more opinions greatly appreciated.
I had 2 GSD's up until last year, Georgie was 11yrs old and we sadly had to have her put to sleep as she had suffered with CDRM which was just awful to see her deteriorate and was on Rymadil for her last 18months, and Billy who suddenly died in his sleep 5 weeks after Georgie. Both were such lovely dogs and I really love the breed. We now have a rescue 6yr old Possibly GSD cross but he is about the size of a spaniel called Doofus and he is a dear, thinks the world loves him!!
Thanks again
Muddipaws
elaineb
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

04-05-2009, 12:54 PM
Originally Posted by Helena54 View Post