Our sister sites
Our sister sites
bongo's_handler
Dogsey Junior
Female 

16-03-2017, 01:09 PM

Introducing a new pup (sorry it's long)

Hello all!

I have been handling my current dog, Bongo, a energetic 60 pound Boxer/German Shorthair Pointer/Retriever mix for almost 10 months. He just turned a year old on the 2nd, listens to all my commands, makes great eye contact, and respects me as the alpha. However, he is absolutely insane around other dogs. He is very submissive and respectful, but the little monster could play ALL DAY if you let him. I often go over to my neighbor's house and let him romp with his two Great Danes. But you know dog training, there's always something to work on. I recently started training a neurotic white German Shepherd bitch puppy, who was found abandoned and tied to a pole in the rain. She's taken some time to acclimate and calm down (she's afraid of tall men with baseball caps- she barked at my friend's brother for 3 days) but she was finally ready to introduce to Bongo. Now, Bongo is used to being the smaller dog when he plays. He's used to giant Great Danes that put his whole head in their mouths. So when we turned both of them out in the backyard to play, he was a little too intense on Winter (the Shepherd pup). I took the toys out of the backyard so Bongo wouldn't be possessive and freak her out, but she came over to me for reassurance at least 5 times. Every time Bongo would start barking at her, egging her on, knocking her over at 25 miles an hour, and biting too hard to the point she yelped, I would grab him by his scruff, scold him, and put him in a Down-Stay. That helped to calm him down for a little bit, but 10 minutes after I released him he was back to his old antics. Does anyone have any tips and tricks to keeping the older dog calm and letting the puppy know that it's a safe environment? I would really appreciate input. Thanks!
Miriam John
New Member!
Female 

26-03-2017, 04:30 PM