Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Wyrd
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

10-05-2010, 11:00 AM

Puppy crying in crate

Cooper has been using his crate at night and isn't too bad with it, he cries a little bit then goes to sleep.
Today I popped him in his crate when i went out to see the horses as he isn't big enough to come with me yet, I was told to cover his crate during the day and he goes to sleep, but he cried a lot it really upset me.
I was as quick as i could be and got home, my lad Sam looked quite distressed and sniffed at the crate when i got home (although Cooper was quiet) and Cooper was a bit off with me, i took him outside for a pee and he didn't bound back to me when i told he was good like he has been doing, he just walked up to Sam and took himself over to the back door to go in. I scooped him up and he has been asleep on my lap ever since.
He had been in a crate at his foster home so i assumed he was used to it.

I have never used a crate before, i am wondering whether something like a kong with some nice food in it that he only gets when in his crate would work? to try and make it a nice experience for him?
Helena54
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

10-05-2010, 11:15 AM
Oh poor little guy, he got really upset by the sounds of it, and it might be a good idea to check him all over (which you've probably already done!) just in case he's hurt himself somewhere, maybe caught his paws or something trying to get out? Hopefully not though.

I wouldn't cover it in the daytime, but I would definitely put his favourite toys in there, and yes, a kong with some little treats in it, or frozen yoghurt or a raw carrot, anything to keep him occupied.

The fact that your other dog was a bit unsettled though, just makes me wonder if he caught his paw??? Take a good look at those front paws won't you, and hope all is well.