Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
magpye
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

04-01-2012, 05:45 PM

Should I consider foster?

Currently I am a full time student (event though I'm 37), with some work from home income. I am comfortable though not wealthy financially and have long student holidays during which I am at home (I can't afford to go abroad) and am either working in my house or enjoying working with and training with my dogs.

I am in an almost perfect position to foster and have contacts with a number of rescue groups so I know there are loads of dogs out there who would love to have a break from kennels and time in a house, even if just for a holiday.

Pharaoh is getting older (12 pushing 13) and to be honest I probably wouldn't foster until he has gone to the bridge... unless just the right sort of dog came along...

Kismet is much better with other dogs now than she was, though she still wears her muzzle while out on walks, just in case. We have more positive than negative reactions to dogs these days and she can greet and even play with 80% of the dogs we meet on walks... I can usually spot the sort she doesn't like and keep her distracted and happy on a short leash until we are past and then we will maybe have one incident a month or so where some evil little monster just heads in and has a go, hence the muzzle still.

In the house she had a couple of fights with Selkie though one of those seemed to be an attempt to remove a cyst we hadn't noticed, the rest were probably just bitch to bitch related and were never reciprocated by Selkie so were never that bad, no damage to either side, with Pharaoh its the usual things that trigger spats between dogs that live together, a squabble over the ownership of a toy, or once Pharaoh fell off the bed onto her and the pair of them woke up thinking the other one had attacked them...