Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Kanie
Dogsey Senior
Female 

06-05-2013, 03:09 PM

Another Working Trials Question

I'm relatively new to working trials. I watched a PD round recently and came away really confused.

I've done a lot of work over the years as a 'body' with search and rescue dogs and the search for the criminals had be really baffled, because looking at the size of the field, I would have cast my dog off and let them hunt, without me doing a lot.

The handlers were (to me) just doing sendaways to the hides, so that the dog 'checked' each one. I can see that looks thorough, but compared to a dog that actually has to find a lost person on a whole hillside, the handler would never presume to send the dog to every rock or hollow that might have a person concealed from view in / behind it.

I know it's a different situation - but it's still using a dog to hunt out a person who is going to reward the dog (because bodies in training whip out toys and have a good game or tug / catch/ whatever your dog likes)

The people training were very helpful and did their best to explain that different judges look for different things...but I still didn't get it! If the dogs were really convinced that the 'criminal' was the most fun person to meet in the world and often found lurking behind hides, then surely they would clock the hides instantly and make a beeline anyway - it wasn't exactly a big area to work - if the dog was less of a natural hunter and more conditioned to clock hides?

I just couldn't work out the line between allowing the dog to hunt naturally and handling. I felt (just me) that quite often, the handlers were intervening and handling almost for the sake of it and if they'd just let the dog cast about a bit, he would have had a strike and gone in anyway.

Okay, I've shown my ignorance, but I just wanted to ask: what exactly is a judge looking for in the 'quartering'?