Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
my_boy_sonny
Dogsey Senior
Female 

15-04-2004, 08:46 PM

Running away

Hi I was wondering I anyone had any tips - We have only started letting Sonny off his lead and he is great except when he sees other dogs he runs away to play with them ( he loves other dogs- being bitten by next doors dog hasn't put him off). The problem is he doesn't come back and I have had a few frights. He was at puppy class but he is too big and the obedience class was busy so he can't start that for another few weeks - I know that the classes will help but I am scared to let him off - no squeeky toys or treats will get him back and sometimes I am not quick enough at getting him back on the lead.

Thanks any help would be greatful

Love sam and sonny xx
eRaze
Administrator
Male 

15-04-2004, 08:56 PM
Good post Sam

Now I'm no expert so don't take this as Gospel! But what about if you NEVER gave him any treats but, ONLY gave him one on a recall?

Also wonder what the experts out there think about this? As I too want to train Rocky to come on command and would appreciate any ideas!
Alison N
Dogsey Junior

15-04-2004, 10:29 PM
The recall is always the most difficult exercise I think! Grace went through a phase of thinking "well you are there all the time so I'll go and say hello to this dog first because he might not be here again". Difficult to argue with that logic!

Good advice on stepping down the treats - sometimes we are a bit trigger happy with them. I grade them, lower value treats when working at home and a high value treat when out. All dogs work for different things, I use liver for Grace yet my old girl Doris couldn't stand the stuff, she preferred chicken.

Have you tried keeping the squeaky toys away from him too? Mine have a stacked toy box but certain toys are kept by me and only used at certain times. They know when they appear/sound they are in for a good time and playtime (as its controlled) is much more fun.
eRaze