Our sister sites
Our sister sites
WeeScotsChick
New Member!
Female 

15-02-2008, 03:14 PM

Strange Urinating In House When Never Done Before

Hey everyone a newbie here!

We have a black Labrador Retriever 3 yrs old, we got him back in June last year from a friend my partner knew, when he owned him he kept home out the back garden in a Kennel and i was a bit iffy about how he was going to be at living in the house, well it is luxury to him now!! Anyway he has be brilliant at doing his toilet when out walking or let out just before us going to bed etc and two weeks ago out of the blue he just lifted his leg at our living room door and released himself and ovbousioly we gave him a telling off and told him no that is bad and put him outside! After that he never done it again until this morning i woke up to find my little boys bedroom door opened and there it was a big wet patch on bed his bit toy box and you could smell it was dog wee so again i took him to the spot and point him nose to it and told him no and gave him a tap sent him out the back!! He is usually really good and i dont understand why he did this hes in all day while we are at work and touch wood has never done it! He is walked twice at night and out every hr out the back! Any ideas what it could be!

He is a very affectionate dog too wants to sit and always wants to give you licks when we first got him this was excessive but hes calmed down now that he know there is no need for it every 5 mins I suppose that could be down to being stuck in a kennel!

Any ideas and tips are helpful

Thanks
elmac13
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

15-02-2008, 03:27 PM
It sounds like he has started to mark certain places with his scent. I have heard that neutering can make them less territorial but I would have a word with your vet in case he's got a bladder infection or something and also about the neutering.