Our sister sites
Our sister sites
michelle12
New Member!
Female 

01-03-2011, 09:09 PM

New dog growls when trying to move from bed

Hi everyone, help!!!
We have just taken on a 2 year old viszla/ lab cross.
He got up on the couch and when my husband went to get him down he growled and showed his teeth. We distracted him with a treat as he is very food directed and got him of the couch. We have not allowed him on the couch since that happened yesterday.
Today he decided that the dog bed which my 1 year old viszla female sleeps in suited him better, my children went to say goodnight before going to bed. He was fine with a stroke from my 6 year old, but when my 4 year old followed, he started growling. My husband removed him from the bed to the rug immediately with some firm words. Should we be doing anything else or is there a way we can resolve this problem quickly
Kerryowner
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

01-03-2011, 09:15 PM
Hi-I'm not an expert in the sense of being a professional dog trainer or behaviourist so others on here would be better equipped to advise but one point-I would tend to see the dog's bed as being a space where they are left alone and can go there as a place of refuge if you like, ie if they want to get away from your children. Therefore I think you should teach your children that if the dogs are in their beds they should be undisturbed.

However, the fact that the dog is growling at you is worrying if you have children in your house as he sounds like quite a big dog? Do you have any history on the dog?
Giving a treat may not have been the best thing to do when he growled at you on the couch as he may see this as a reward for growling. Also I would not reprimand a dog for growling as this is a warning if you like and the next time if he has been reprimanded for growling he may go straight into a bite (sorry-not trying to scare you!).