Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
imbat
Dogsey Junior
Male 

20-05-2010, 01:16 PM

Basic essentials

Hoping to move into my new house within the next 2mnths. Just me,the wife & the cat. However I would like to rescue a dog once I am there & as I am new to this was just wondering what the basic essential will be that I need. Money is tight so just need to know what I will need to be able to bring a dog home & look after him properly.
Getting excited now it is getting close
Kalasin
Dogsey Senior
Female 

20-05-2010, 01:23 PM
If money is tight you'd probably be best off waiting for a few months to make entirely sure your finances can cope with the stress of owning a dog. It's a bigger drain on your resources than you think!

We plunged into getting a dog at first opportunity after taking on our first mortgage last year and whilst I would never ever look back on it as a mistake I will say that money was and still is a touchy issue for us!

The bare essentials are:
Food
Bedding
Bowls
Collar and Lead
'Donation money' (most rescues ask for a donation to go towards the cost of housing and neutering the dog whilst it's in rescue)
Vet Fund (at least £100+ as an emergency fund)
Insurance (a MUST in these times)
Secure garden (preferably a high fence and lockable gate)
ID tags
Toys
A lot of free time on your hands.
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

20-05-2010, 01:29 PM
Insurance or an amount put aside for veterinary costs is the most important.
If you`re in an area affected by sandfly or other parasites you`ll need to prevent infection with treatments or special collars.
You`ll need to have an enclosed area for your dog, so you might need to put up fencing. If he`s going to spend a lot of time outside, make sure he has shelter from the sun and the cold.
He`ll need somewhere to sleep, which can be a mat or a fancy bed - the dog won`t mind which.
I wouldn`t buy dogfood in large quantities to start with as what you buy may not suit him.