Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Tassle
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-09-2011, 05:23 PM

Experienced Owners

At what point would you consider yourself and/or others an experienced owner?

Do you feel it is to do with the length of time a dog(s) has been owned?
Or the problems one has to deal with with a dog(s)?
Taking on Pups? Rescues?
The training people do?
The different breeds owned?

What counts (in your own opinion) as experienced?
SLB
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-09-2011, 05:31 PM
I think experience comes from knowledge and understanding.

I would say I was experienced (to a degree) about dogs. I know a lot about them, although I am still learning - but that gives you the experience and I understand them.. I'm not a behaviourist, but I'm not someone who completely lacks any understanding in them altogether (the woman on VS who thought dogs were like cats springs to mind).

I have trained basics and walked dogs for 9 years but not professionally, just as an after school/neighbourhood thing - I wouldn't call myself fully experienced...

I do think that the more you go through with dogs, the more understanding you are - you can read all the books in the world but it doesn't compare to the real thing.

Although I've researched, read, watched documentaries, dog walked, pet sat and trained basics to the neighbours dogs - since getting Louie I've only really started learning

Sadie and Benjie have taught me things along the way too.. not to leave them out..

Does that all make sense? Or did I just waffle?
Tupacs2legs
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-09-2011, 05:38 PM
i think there is a difference between 'experienced dog owners' and 'breed specific experience' and the blurry line between them
Wozzy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-09-2011, 05:42 PM