View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Doggydina
Almost a Veteran
Female 

14-09-2006, 12:23 PM

Thinking of feeding raw?! (quantity for 15 kg bitch?)

Hi all!

I am planning on changing my babes diet as just not happy with it. I am looking into feeding her raw. She is a Staffie crossed with either lurcher or whippet (i think - rescued). She is just over 15kg (quiet slender dure to her cross). Roughly how much raw food should she get a day? I have an idea of the kind of food, just not 100% on how much. She's never been the biggest eater, but loves meat etc.

Thanks in Advance
Lis x
madhouse
Dogsey Junior
Female 

14-09-2006, 01:31 PM
I'm sure there'll be loads of better advice than I'm going to give, 'cos I'm fairly new at it myself, but.....

We've had Odi just over 2 weeks now, and at first I was writing down quantities etc, and now I feed by eye. I put in his bowl as much as I think he'll eat in 10 minutes and then take the remainder away (and save for the next meal).

Today, so far, he's had 3 chicken wings for breakfast (because he refused to eat his beef mince ), 3 chicken drumsticks and a wing for lunch and he's supposed to be having half a pack of tripe for his tea, but seeing as he's on a "hungry" day he may well eat all 400g!!!! He also has 1 capsule of fish body oil and 1 garlic capsule per day, with a vit E every other day.

If he's looking a bit skinny (which seems to be permanently this week!) I give him more, if he starts to plump up...will he ever? then I'll cut it down a bit.

He's a 10 week old, 12kg Ridgeback btw.

When I initially read about feeding by eye before we got him, I was really confused, but the more meals he's had, the more relaxed I've become, and now I feel like an old hand!

HTH
Vicky
zero
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

14-09-2006, 03:48 PM